Six On Saturday – The Return Of Colour 4๐ŸŒธ5๐ŸŒธ24

It has been a long dry summer with a long dryish autumn to follow. But it has been quite nice garden enjoying weather, with weeks of still sunny weather. With cool mornings and evenings. A pleasant by-product of not much rain has been these sunny days, so I might as well enjoy them while they last. I have had to keep the water up to the garden plants. However, now they are benefiting from it, it is reaching their roots and are staying moist for longer. Marking the return of mass-flowering in my garden, now the cooler weather has set in.

This has brought a nice colour to the deciduous tree foliage for autumn and it has not been blown off by the wind (like they sometimes do), win-win! Autumn is start of the autumn colour in plants such as Salvias. I have a collection of dry climate Salvia varieties that enjoy my garden and they tend to start flowering at this time of year enmasse.

Salvia microphylla So Cool Blue is a cloud of purple blue every year! This year I have been re-establishing a couch lawn in the front garden by divisions and I have about 40 little pieces growing away! Mind you, I have had to water them daily but I enjoyed this Zen time appreciating my garden.
Salvia microphylla So Cool Pink, I planted this one this year to be a companion plant to the purple one each year. The Salvia microphyllas are very hardy in my garden and survive in it year after year.
A favourite of mine is this super drought hardy Salvia chamadryoides. Its grey leaves giving an indication of how tough these plants are, in the drier part of the garden. I like to divide this up and plant for its intense blue flowers. they don’t look that spectacular in this photo, but are more striking in real-life.
Glorious pink Nerine I saved from the back of the garden bed last year and planted them in the front of the bed instead. A better decision all round! Here she is glowing in the evening sun. I have a few colours of Nerine this dark pink, a pastel pink and this old vintage Cerise red that comes up in random places, all around the garden. Mainly because I planted them there!
The roses have started their autumn flush. Here we have Hybrid Musk Cornelia,  Iceberg,  Orangerie and China Mutabilis with it’s curious unfurling petal style.
The velvety flowers of Salvia mexicanus,  an autumn treat. Plus the purple flowers of Salvia Christine Yeo, a very tough little customer! She flowers on very little water.

๐ŸŒธ

Thatโ€™s all from me.

See more beautiful Six on Saturday gardens from around the world, on the Six on the Saturday tag, our host is Jim you can find his blog here .
Thanks for visiting.๐ŸŒธ

Happy Gardening โ€“ Sarah ๐ŸŒธ

I was also my Birthday this week and my children made this amazing bouquet fashioned out of toilet paper! With some homemade cards.

 

Plus I made a lemon cake with the first lemon from our new garden! ๐Ÿ‹

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Rosie Amber says:

    That reminds me, I planted Nerines last year but they didn’t flower. Perhaps they needed time to settle or didn’t like the position.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sarah Rajkotwala says:

      I got mine from a neighbour who was moving and she said they were lilies. I planted them at the back of the beds and then realized they were Nerines and moved them. Yes, sometimes Nerines take a little time to settle then, flower out of the blue when you least expect it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. fredgardener says:

    Superb Nerines! I planted some but I don’t know where anymore… it will be a surprise in the autumn… The choice of salvias is immense and you presented us with some very pretty ones!

    Like

    1. Sarah Rajkotwala says:

      Thanks Fred, it’s nice that gardeners like to plant little surprises for themselves by the way of autumn bulbs! I love a Nerine! ๐Ÿ˜˜โš˜๐ŸŒธ

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A lovely selection. China Mutabilis really does have a curious unfurling petal style!

    Like

    1. Sarah Rajkotwala says:

      Thanks Graeme, It is great to be amused by small things! You will always get delight in your life! I find this rose and her curious petals endlessly fascinating! ๐Ÿ˜˜โš˜๐ŸŒผ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pauline says:

    Lovely nerine, I must buy more for this year. Your salvias are beautiful, such pretty colours with the first couple.

    Like

    1. Sarah Rajkotwala says:

      Thanks Pauline, I love a Salvia. The Nerine is a little star, I’m glad I moved her to the front of the bed where I can appreciate her! ๐Ÿ˜˜โš˜๐ŸŒธ

      Like

  5. Happy belated birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sarah Rajkotwala says:

      Thanks Kate love! ๐Ÿ˜˜๐ŸŒธโš˜๐ŸŒผ

      Like

  6. Catherine says:

    So many lovely salvias in your garden, Sarah. I usually only grow S. ‘Caradonna’ which gets through the winter here. I planted a few Salvia x jamensis ‘Nachtvlinder’ yesterday, since one well-known gardener assures that when planted beside roses, they can prevent black spot & mildew. I’m putting it to the test. ๐Ÿ˜Š Happy Belated Birthday! The cards from your children are lovely and I bet the cake tasted great with your homegown lemons!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sarah Rajkotwala says:

    Thanks so much Catherine! ๐Ÿ˜˜โš˜๐ŸŒธ Ooh I looked up Salvia jamiensis Nachchtvlinder, she’s a very pretty purple and quite similar to a few of the other purple salvias I grow here. If she helps the roses, it will be great!

    Like

  8. Beautiful Salvias. Iโ€™ve grown a few different ones under my Roses for the last few years. They seem to help with the blackspot. I love a Nerine but seem incapable of growing them, sadly. Lovely six

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sarah Rajkotwala says:

      Thanks love, yes the Salvias seem to be a healing tonic for roses! ๐ŸŒธโš˜ Sorry about the Nerines, maybe it is too wet for them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment